The Provost’s Award for Extraordinary Service is given annually to recognize a faculty member, a group of faculty members, or an entire department for outstanding contributions to academic affairs and the university during the previous year.

Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Nicole Hill presented the 2021-2022 award to the Minds@Work team for their dedication to Ship students that allowed them to showcase their emerging skills as scholar-practitioners and to capture the impact of research collaboration with faculty members.:

  • Minds@Work Co-chairs:
    • Dr. Rob Lesman, associate professor of Global Languages and Cultures
    • Dr. Jordan Windholz, associate professor of English
  • Committee members:
    • Dr. Sara Grove, professor of Political Science
    • Dr. Christine Royce, professor of Teacher Education
    • Professor Kirk Moll, associate professor of the Lehman Library

“The vision, pertinacity, and hard work of Rob, Jordan, Sara, Christine, and Kirk across last year as they insisted on us reinvigorating the Minds@Work conference after the pandemic and launching it again in a face-to-face format involved extraordinary service,” said Provost Hill. “Our students benefit from our faculty’s cultivation of their scholarly identities and the integration of professional and research-based experiences into the classroom environment. The growth and development of our students is nurtured by their participation in research projects which are frequently collaborative efforts with peers and mentored by faculty – this is one of our University exemplars of high impact strategies.”

Each recipient received $1,000 to be used for professional development activities in addition to a certificate in recognition of their achievement during the August 17, 2022 University General Meeting in the Luhrs Performing Arts Center with hundreds of members of the Shippensburg University community who gathered to celebrate.